Social Media Trends for Every Day of the Week

Social Media Trends for Every Day of the Week

This post was originally published in April 2017

From Monday Motivation to Friday Fun Day, social media trends get lots of users talking. Inserting yourself into the conversation is a great way to drive new traffic to your site, build brand awareness and gain followers. 

Hashtags are also proven to help your posts garner attention organically. Further, with the boost that hashtags provide, ads have proven to outperform and have reduced cost per click, thereby making your ads cheaper. 

Don’t feel limited by not having enough photos; one of the most popular social media trends is video. In fact, recent studies have shown that video will make up 82 percent of all internet traffic in 2020. Another option is graphics to display text, or animated posts to attract attention. These can be created for free on sites such as Canva. A combination of many mediums keeps things fresh and interesting.

If your social media account is active throughout the week, it also creates a reliable medium for followers to contact you and build a relationship with your company. This has its advantages for your brand and bottom line. For example, 69 percent of people in an 8,000 person Facebook study said that direct messaging with a company made them feel more confident about the brand. 

Your goal with frequent social media posting is to nurture trust, build meaningful connections, create conversation, be authentic, and grow your community. 

Here are data-backed social media trends you can use in your campaigns every day of the week.

Social Media Trends for the Whole Week

Monday:

According to research conducted by Hootsuite, Monday is proven to be the best day to post if you are in the tech industry. For other industries, Monday hashtags typically center around kicking off the work week. Some of the most popular hashtags for social media on Monday are: 

Monday Motivation (#mondaymotivation), Monday Mood (#mondaymood), Monday Morning (#mondaymorning), Monday Blues (#mondayblues), Monday Fun Day (#mondayfunday) and Monday Night (#mondaynight). 

Graphic of a hashtag with a bunch of little people bellow it on their phone to represent popular hashtags

Popular hashtags are a way to connect and increase your business’s visibility online.

Monday Mood is a popular hashtag to show off a funny photo of a pet, start conversations surrounding being groggy from the weekend, or post an industry-relevant meme. 

If you are going for a more upbeat approach, #MondayMotivation is a great hashtag to show photos of a fantastic meal, a great workout, a team photo at the office, or an inspirational story. Mondays don’t have to be all bad, right? They provide an opportunity for a fresh start and hopes of a productive week ahead!

Tuesday:

As the week gets rolling, it is an opportunity to keep followers engaged and put a smile on their faces. For the most part, Tuesday’s social media trends are focused on tidbits, facts, trivia or imparting wisdom. The most popular hashtags for Tuesday are: 

Tuesday Vibes (#tuesdayvibes), Tuesday Thoughts (#tuesdaythoughts), Tuesday Tip (#tuesdaytip), Tuesday Treat (#tuesdaytreat), Tuesday Truth (#tuesdaytruth), Tuesday Trivia (#tuesdaytrivia), Transformation Tuesday (#transformationtuesday). 

Tuesday is a fantastic day to make a graphic and share a piece of advice relevant to your industry (#tuesdaytip), ask your followers to guess or comment on a post (#tuesdaytrivia), or post about how far your company has come since it started (#transformationtuesday). 

Following these social media trends will increase the visibility and reach of your posts; those who may not be aware of your page might see your post and become intrigued. Take advantage of Tuesday’s most popular hashtags—posts during the week perform better than those on the weekend. 

Wednesday:

Wednesday, or Humpday, is a day for motivation; help your followers power through the second half of the week. Think about that mid-week pick-me-up we all crave and post that on your social media. The most popular hashtags on Wednesday are: 

Wednesday Wisdom (#wednesdaywisdom), Wednesday Motivation (#wednesdaymotivation), Wednesday Night (#wednesdaynight), Wednesday Workout (#wednesdayworkout), Wednesday Humpday (#wednesdayhumpday), Wednesday Words (#wednesdaywords). 

Wednesday posts frequently focus on personal health and wellness. Companies use the tag to promote healthy products and start conversations with the hashtag Wednesday Wisdom (#wednesdaywisdom). Wednesday Motivation (#wednesdaymotivation) could show off a great band set up for an upcoming gig, a wonderful meal your restaurant offers, or a big accomplishment that your company is proud of.

Thursday:

Popular Hashtags appearing in the instagram browser

Social media platforms also reveal popular hashtags as you type them, offering you more specific hashtags that suit your industry or photo—take advantage of these. If they don’t automatically appear, do your research online.

Thursday is one of the best possible days to post on social media. If you don’t post every day, make sure you are keeping up with social media trends and posting on Thursdays. The most popular hashtags on Thursday are: 

Throwback Thursday (#tbt or #throwbackthursday), Thursday Thoughts (#thursdaythoughts), Thursday Night (#thursdaynight), Thursday Vibes (thursdayvibes), Thursday Mood (#thursdaymood), Thursday Morning (#thursdaymorning). 

Use the popular hashtags #TBT and #ThrowBackThursday to share historical, childhood, or recent memories. This is a chance to share your company’s history and story; customers will love getting to know you on a personal level. 

Fun fact: Thursday is the best day to post on Instagram — do not miss out on the most popular day of the week to post!

Friday:

Finally, the day we’ve all been waiting for…Friday! Use this chance to share a fun, silly or playful post while taking advantage of the most popular hashtags for Friday:  

Friday Night (#fridaynight), Friday Feeling (#fridayfeeling), Friday Night Lights (#fridaynightlights), Friday Fun (#fridayfun), Friday Night Dinner (#fridaynightdinner), Friday Reads (#fridayreads), Fact Friday (#factfriday), Happy Friday (#happyfriday). 

Share a photo of your happy customers or happy staff members, a video of your team doing a little dance, an amusing meme, or a picture of a sunny day outside—anything to celebrate and ring in the weekend is perfect. 

Additionally, a social media trend is the hashtag #FollowFriday, or #FF, which was invented as a way to encourage users to follow others and explore new interests. This can also help spread the word about your business.

Woman looking through an instagram post based on a popular hashtag, it is a woman in red pants on instagram

Show a personable side of your business or a behind-the-scenes look; you can use social media trends to create interesting posts that expand your audience.

Saturday:

Everybody loves a Saturday. As a business, the weekend gives you a chance to show off a more easy-going or fun side of your company. The highest-ranking and most popular hashtags for Saturday are largely based on the time of day. For example: 

Saturday Night (#saturdaynight), Saturday Morning (#saturdaymorning), Saturday Fun Day (#saturdayfunday), Saturday Style (#saturdaystyle), Saturday Lunch (#saturdaylunch). 

Why not show off a new side of your business? Do you have a fun photo of a team retreat (#saturdayfunday), a silly dress up day (#saturdaystyle), or are you eating a delicious lunch from a local business you want to support (#saturdaylunch)? Showing off a personal side on social media can go a long way to increase connections with followers. 

Sunday:

Sunday is a famously lazy day. Embrace your restful Sunday and show off what that means to you! The most popular hashtags for Sunday are as follows: 

Sunday vibes (#sundayvibes), Sunday Morning (#sundaymorning), Sunday Brunch (#sundaybrunch), Sunday Dinner (#sundaydinner), Sunday Hike (#sundayhike), and Selfie Sunday (#selfiesunday). 

Sundays are not immune to social media trends. Feel free to post a photo of a picnic in the park, a nature scene from a walk, or a cozy picture of you snuggled up with your dog. Sundays are days to rest from the past week and begin to prepare for the upcoming week; use these social media trends to show off how you do Sundays!

The Power of Social Media Trends

Never forget the power of hashtags: capitalizing on popular social media trends allows you to keep your costs down while getting the word out about your business. The lowest engagement is on weekends and the most popular days are Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. 

Graphic of people sitting on hashtag symbol

Taking part in social media trends and popular hashtags are an opportunity to connect and build community. 

If you can use your posts to spark conversation, ask a question, engage followers in dialogue or tag a fellow business in your industry, this is all the better for post visibility. The more fun, valuable and enjoyable your social media feed is, the more people will want to follow you. The value in followers is also, of course, staying top of mind and demonstrating your popularity and reputability to the online world. 

Do you want to improve your company’s social media presence? Contact us today to get started with a complimentary 30- minute consultation to learn how we can improve your company’s social media presence. 

Special Offer:

Sign up for a complimentary consultation during September and receive an Email Marketing Guide valued at $475! We offer a 30-minute phone consultation with our CEO, and can answer your questions and discuss your specific marketing needs - no strings attached. Call 408-218-2391 or contact us today to arrange your consultation!

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *